N12Turbo.com lanyards are now available! Click here to visit the shop

My pushies

Anything and everything thats not N12 related.
Kimmo

My pushies

Post by Kimmo »

So I used to read Street Machine back in the day, dreaming about pimping up this car or that, considering all the sweet ways I'd like to showcase my aesthetic... but I've owned a machine worthy of such treatment for ages now, and never really felt compelled; the sheer volume of work and cash required is just too daunting.

But a treadly is another matter - you can fully cut sick with only hours and hundreds. Plus, I've been volunteering at The Bike Shed for three years, and I've been working as a bike mechanic for a year, so there's that...

So here's the latest creation; a parts bin rat rod. Hillman is a grouse old Aussie brand, quite sought-after amongst the fixie hipsters these days ( :x )... this one is a size or two too small for me, hence the 130mm stem and miles of seatpost. Doesn't handle too well and the toe overlap shits me hard, but I love all the drop (from seat to bars).

The rusty spokes, crappy-looking decals on the wheels and grey primer on the carbon fork are all part of the aesthetic here... it's a cool old frame in ratty nick fully pimped out with all the mod cons like threadless fork, 31.8mm bars, 24mm external BB, segmented cable housing etc, but all that gear's just whatever I had around that would do the job. Funny thing is, the parts spec goes from top-tier down to lower mid-range and it's distributed pretty much exactly like my priorities. Sweet.

Basically, 'I don't give a fuck how it looks; the fact it looks awesome is an accident.'

More

The next weapon's looks are no accident. This puppy is blinged-up to eleven.

Pow.

8.05kg. Stiff as buggery yet incredibly compliant. America's best shifting gear, Japan's best brakes and drivetrain. Mmm, SRAM RED and Shimano Dura Ace...